Sunday, June 26, 2011

UK announces to build eight new nuke plants

 Updated at: 0724 PST,  Friday, June 24, 2011
UK announces to build eight new nuke plants LONDON: The United Kingdom government has announced to build eight new nuclear power stations in its bid to avert and energy crisis. 

Secretary of State for Energy Chris Huhne announced the construction of the plants, which will begin operating between 2018 and 2025. 

He also announced a drive to put up wind turbines around the coast, install more solar panels in homes, and invest in technology to limit polluting emissions from conventional coal-fired power stations. 

The sites identified as suitable are alongside existing nuclear plants in Bradwell, Essex; Hartlepool; Heysham, Lancashire; Hinkley Point, Somerset; Oldbury, Gloucestershire; Sellafield, Cumbria; Sizewell, Suffolk; and Wylfa, Anglesey. 

Existing nuclear power stations will also be allowed to extend their life until the new plants are built.


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...